Resources for Food Intolerances

by stronged

I have recently experienced another intestinal blow-out after foolishly believing i had built up my tolerances for certain problem foods once again.

I had been going incredibly well monitoring my intake of high salicylate products and problem fructose vegetables garlic and onion. Plus ruling out dairy products completely. Originally my naturopath identified that i have an intolerance for lactose (although recently i have wondered whether this is for casein instead – the protein in dairy).

Last weekend i had the honour of attending an old school friends wedding up in Alice Springs. I became blasé about what i was eating due to the massive quantities of delicious foods. So the accumulation of rich foods over the weekend and following into the week (when i consumed some onion at a Japanese restaurant on Monday night, then partook in a delicious Roo Bolognese made by one of my housemates on Tuesday night, followed by some fish oil liquid on Wednesday morning) blew my small intestine and spleen into throbbing, painful time bombs.

It is only now, after not being able to eat anything for Thursday and part of Friday, that i have been able to stomach a bowl of porridge. Last night was incredibly exciting that i was able to consume a soft boiled egg on a piece of toast!

So i am hoping it is only up and up from this point. I will be strict over the next couple of weeks and will aim to initiate a proper elimination diet at the end of my semester (November).

The below links are a combination of information that i hope will direct me through this venture.

Disclaimer: This information has been obtained for personal use so has not been prescribed officially by any medical professional.

 

Elimination Diet – Food Challenge Protocols

FODMAPs

Elimination Diet – Strict and Moderate

Elimination Diet – Simple diet

Elimination Diet – RPAH Shopping List 2007#

Elimination Diet – RPAH Problem Additives 2008#

Elimination Diet – RPAH Medicines, Hygeine, etc 2008#

Elimination Diet – Meals and Snack Ideas _milk and wheat free

Elimination Diet – Food Challenge Protocols

