MEDIA AND COMMUNICATION RESEARCH METHODS

by stronged

Berger, Arthur Asa. MEDIA AND COMMUNICATION RESEARCH METHODS: An Introduction to Qualitative and Quantative Approaches

Scholarly Research is ‘more systematic, more objective, more careful, and more concerned about correctness and truthfulness’

“facts is precisely what there is not, only interpretations.” – Friedrich Nietzsche

‘There is, he said, “no limit to the ways the world can be interpreted.”‘ – Friedrich Nietzsche – coined term “perspectivism.”

‘At the heart of all research is the matter of comparisons’

axis of simultaneities = space

axis of succession = time

Control group = not tampered with

Experimental group = tampered with

‘Concepts are relational…”Concepts are purely differential and defined not by their positive content but negatively by their relations with the other terms of the system. Their most precise characteristic is in being what the other are not [italics added].”‘ – Saussaure

Qualitative = “of what kind?”

Quantative = “How great/how many?”

  1. Intrapersonal – Communicating with self.
  2. Interpersonal – Communicating with small intimate group/two people.
  3. Small group – Group large enough that interpersonal communication cannot take place (i.e. class, etc.)
  4. Organizational – How organizations communicate to members.
  5. Mass Media – Great deal of mass media content takes the form of texts (i.e. TV programs, films, songs).

This paper raised some key questions for me at this stage:

  1. Is the problem important enough to bother with? This is definitely a key component to me. I must feel passionate about what I am researching. I must feel that I am making an impact in my chosen area – whether for my own professional or personal development or for the future of pedagogy. 
  2. Do you have the skills to do the research? This is one of my main issues in deciding what research question to go with. Considering I am investigating cross disciplinary research (filmmaking to education using interactive media) I am finding it difficult to create a conversation between the two. I am not versed in pedagogy nor coding for interactive media, and therefore am trying to grasp key concepts before heading down that path. But this is an unrealistic goal as I should be focusing in on my area of study (screenwriting and filmmaking). I am trying desperately to make this connect to a Dip Ed though, to use it, as Adrian has suggested, as a stepping stone into my next stage in life.
  3. Is the topic sufficiently narrow and focused so that you can do it in the time you have at your disposal and with limited funds? I seem to formulate grandiose concepts that are unrealistic to achieve. I am incredibly ambitious and passionate about the areas that I wish to research, but one year is a short amount of time to accomplish a project to a scale I deem worthy. Perhaps a little of the perfectionist trait shining through. However, I would hope to make somewhat of a dint in that area of study rather than create a mediocre paper/product.
  4. Is your methodology the best on to deal with your hypothesis or subject being investigated? Filmmaking and screenwriting are awkward tools to have in order to jump into the world of pedagogy and interactive media. They are quite labour-intensive and are tricky to generate a focused investigation as documentary-making is quite an organic practice. Screenwriting feels much too passive for such subject matters.

 

