3 Questions Feedback

by stronged

Spoke to my housemate Finn about interactive documentaries RE my precursor. I agreed with him that Korsakow is somewhat of a deceptive framework for the user as they do not have control (stop, skip, scroll along the timeline) or any way of gauging how long the documentary will go for.

I’m not a fan of this lack of control. I am finding it incredibly challenging and still hold out hope for a different platform I can use for my major research project.

Chatting with a friend of mine, Luke, who is currently studying computer sciences, he has sent me through some links:

Two referential modes of compositing an interactive video online. Jenny Weight had already mentioned Popcorn to me. Thinking from a pedagogical viewpoint, I believe both would be very handy to curate a lesson play or some such:

http://popcornjs.org/

http://timeline.verite.co/

Luke found this example of an interactive narrative that seems to be the closest in resembling what I am interested in exploring. However, the compromise the filmmakers had to go through by producing an ambitious narrative shows up in poor production standards and performances.

http://www.motionpieces.com/lostcause/play.html/

I am intrigued by this notion of multiple perspectives portraying a skewed reality of events. Somewhat like an ontograph of an event. An exploded diagram of an event. This exercise would reveal what exactly makes up an event? Of course the perception of the participants involved. There is also the setting (it’s physical attributes, eg. terrain), the objects/props, the weather/climate, the lighting, the contextual/historical significance of the setting, etc.

Similar to Akira Kurosawa’s Rashomon (1950), which depicts a rape told from the three different perspectives of the victim, the rapist and the observer, I have been ruminating upon what similar event may offer differing perspectives. I ambitiously tried to recreate Rashomon in a contemporary setting for my first year TAFE film. Full of beans from having my first proper short film accepted into TopScreens (the top 15(?) VCE short films of 2004) and subsequently following onto a well-known film school, I felt I could achieve anything my heart desired. I failed miserably.

I still believe in the concept though. How different perspectives/experiences of each individual involved in the event creates a shared situation in the present-tense.

Two concepts have sprung into mind:

  • A blind date that opens up options for the user/viewer to jump into the POV of each character introduced within the narrative world.
  • A counselling session

I have been trying to think of events that can be easily recreated for multiple viewings. More than likely set within an interior space with minimal cast, props, etc. Plus, a short duration as well. I must think pragmatically about this upcoming project.

What makes a person decide on a decision? What does the assemblage of an event consist of? How does an event work as an autopoietic system? How does an event both operate as a collaborative yet simultaneously individual experience?

