Finding my Desire Path

by stronged

I have just come out of a meeting with my Supervisor Adrian Miles and fellow Honours student Tully. Approaching the end of Semester one there was not much to be said. My workload is currently maxed out on course work which leaves very little room for further development of my Honours Research Project.

Nonetheless, I floated the two K-Film concepts I have been toying with these past couple of weeks:

  1. Give voice to a non-sentient thing – Continue to follow Bogost down the rabbit hole of new materialism. Inspired by the expression “if these walls could talk” and a local path I frequent on my irregular jogs around Princes Park, I have been wondering about creating a portrait (or landscape?) of a particular setting. Whether it is a school, classroom, or a beaten path, what the place experiences would entail a fragmentary perception of the world.
  2. Keep vining – Document my consumption over a long period of time. Food seems to be a major focus for Melbournites at the moment. It certainly has been for me these past couple of years. Since returning home from my overseas trip with a crook stomach (riddled with Hep E and parasites) in 2010 I have presented my case to many practitioners (alternative and mainstream) in the hope of curing my ailments. The experience has illustrated the importance that food has on our life.

What I need to provide to Adrian is my:

  • Gantt Chart – in order to figure out when are the appropriate times to meet up throughout the mid-year break.
  • A key text I aim to focus my research on – a theorist or theory that encapsulates my investigation.

What I need to investigate for myself:

  • Strategy vs. Tactic RE informal paths
  • Database Cinema (webdocs/idocs/korsakow)
  • Poetics of narrative pathways
  • Friedberg’s Virtual Window
  • Youngblood’s essay in Fluid Screens
  • Essays on Granularity/Multilinearity
  •  More of Ryan’s writing – Narrative Across Media (Carlton Library: 808 N234)
  • Reality Hunger by David Shields
  • Alison Winter’s book titled Memory: Fragments of a Modern History (ISSN: 0363-0277)

In skimming over the bibliography presented for an upcoming ethnographic masterclass held here at RMIT, I stumbled across a relevant article about giving things a voice! It’s a good read if you have some time to spare, approaching the topic of creative writing from a non-sentient being and how this reflects upon our own morals and value system:

http://www.believermag.com/issues/200403/?read=article_collins

Adrian informed me about this notion of a desire line or desire path. Jumping into a quick google search I pried this term open further, and believe I have struck something of interest. A Desire Path is normally a trail created by traffic seeking the most efficient route from point A to point B.

desire_path

desire_paths

desirepath3

path-diagram2

 

There is a certain poetic nature to these paths also. They can be seen to represent a path etched out within a multi-linear narrative. Or a path of discovery within a research practice. Or perhaps one’s own path through life. A Desire Path is what guides us through life, tending to consist of both a strategic and intuitive approach.

