Treading water

by stronged

Feel like I’m treading water.

Can’t seem to get into the rhythm of writing.

Think I’ve got to start doing morning pages again. Break the seal. Accept that whatever I write is going to be incorrect, then work from that.

I’ve spent the day finishing off my Ethics Application in order to start interviewing members of the place I have chosen to document. I have also started skimming through Metaphor: A Practical Introduction by Zoltan Kovecses and reacquainted myself with Deleuze’s Assemblage theory with the secondary reading text Gilles Deleuze: Key Concepts edited by Charles J. Stivale. I’m also roughly half-way through Tuan’s Space and Place. Feel like he’s the human manifestation of Yoda.

Also, as a side project, I have been invited to speak to the 3rd year Creative Writing students of the undergrad here at RMIT (where I was situated this time last year). I believe Craig is keen for Ruby, Steve and myself to describe our writing processes last year and how the move into Honours has been. So I have spent a portion of the day brainstorming what would be of benefit to speak about, plus reminding myself of my last years work. Shook my head at how sporadic my last years contextual essay was… but was impressed to see how much I had researched.

 

Here  are some notes I scribbled over the weekend, relfecting upon the Ethics Application; other possible K-Films I could potentially add to my body of work; reflection from my last meeting with Adrian; and a mud map of my exegesis plan.

Snapshot_1

Snapshot_2

Snapshot_3

Snapshot_4

Stumbled across this in Tuan’s book; An interesting take on how we devise place into social categories. The idea of intimacy being able to generate immensity, a notion that was first brought to my attention by Bachelard in The Poetics of Space, keeps reemerging in the literature I am reading. Tuan says ‘Solitude is a condition for acquiring a sense of immensity’ (59), noting that when we are confronted by other objects of particular value (other people, inanimate objects of significance) our sense of space and freedom diminishes. There is a power struggle, similar to Massey’s term power-geometries, whereby a constant hierarchical flow of units/participants that make up the assemblage of a place, alters when the relationship of control fluctuates.

Left to our own devices we have space to move about in. To be in. Once the space becomes crowded, a place is formed that can be quite restrictive, or, the flip-side of this is that it can be secure and perhaps homely.

Another interesting point Tuan made, this time on page 29, is that the idea of a mother becomes the first place for a child. Even though a mother is mobile and not fixed, they are a child’s first “landmark” in their life. A child measures all things to their mother and understands them as their first point of reference.

Screen Shot 2013-08-12 at 3.59.47 PM

 

 

 

 

 

