Data – Information – Knowledge

by stronged

big-data-matrix

Adrian has noted my habit of using keywords in an interchangeable way. There does not seem much continuity with particular terms that I use. For example, in one of my previous posts I have used the terms data, information and knowledge to mean roughly the same concepts when in actual fact they are particularly different…

Specifically in this sentence:

The connections that are made between each piece of information creates a network of interrelated data that are in a constant state of readjustment and categorisation.

Data refers to the raw, unorganised facts that need to be processed. Once processed, they become information – a coherent sequence of data that provides a context and overall meaning to an individual. For example, a beam of wood; some metal wire, nails and frames; and some concrete represents raw materials. Together, they form a power pole; an assemblage of data that constitutes a piece of information.

Knowledge? I wont even attempt to use the term knowledge in my writing unless referring to gnosis (to know or knowing).

I’m feeling as though the classification of data in relation to Korsakow and placemaking is somewhat of a rabbit hole to topple down. However, if I tried to prevent falling into this trap of convoluted explanations and never-ending research I would miss a core element to how we assemble data into information and then into a narrative sequence of events (or place-ballet, to borrow a term from Seamon). I’ll endeavour to lightly touch upon it.

Adrian believes that the way in which we classify information does not lead to how we read and understand it. Instead, he believes that the algorithms that a system generates when we search for the information is more important. These algorithms create patterns that provide the form of a work.

I feel somewhat confused by this though. For when we file away data we classify it in a system that an algorithm utilises in its search functionality. The algorithm is governed by this classification system. It is not a rogue, independent system that access the data willy-nilly. Instead, the way in which the data is classified dictates how the algorithms can search for the data and assemble key points of information.

This is my understanding. Perhaps I need to do some more research around this to get a handle on it. Time is of the essence though and I feel I should focus more of my resources on fleshing out the connections between

  • Becoming
  • Assemblage
  • Multifaceted
  • Rhythm (flows and routes)

I was going to attempt pulling a long haul today at uni, pomo’ing my way into the wee hours of the morning. But these last couple of days I have found i begin to fade in the afternoon. I feel tapped out. Probably due to being somewhat sleep deprived due to the mounting anxiety of deadlines and quality of work. Yesterday, after my meeting with Adrian, I felt like stepping on the breaks and giving up on the quality of my research project. Feel like it’s not worth the sweat and heartache to submit something that will be of poor quality anyway. The harder I try the more futile my efforts seem to be. Adrian advising me that what I am writing is wrong. So perhaps I should just submit something that will give me a pass. Although, I believe Melbourne Uni will be enrolling me in the Masters of Education on the merit of my grades. Grades seems to be their focus. Plus, my hope of submitting my work for publication in a journal mid next year will not happen if I give up on my level of quality. Hmm…

I think I’ll give my intro another stab to readjust my direction before trying to define the above topics and how they fit in with placemaking and K-Films.

